The Big Poetry Giveaway 2012 (and other poetry-related stuff)

Image

Thanks to Kelli Russell Agodon, this is the third year I will be participating in the Big Poetry Giveaway! Bloggers all over the Internet (soon to be gathered in a list on Kelli’s blog and reposted here) are giving away two books of poetry to celebrate National Poetry Month. To be a winner, all you have to do is visit the participating blogs, leave a comment, and wait to see what poetry goodness may come your way!

Watch this space tomorrow for my two giveaways and a list of other participants.

*****

I have been home on spring break and doing a LOT of drafting and free-writing. I am hoping that this will help me tackle NaPoWriMo, but I’m not putting any pressure on myself to write a poem every day. Molly Spencer has decided to focus on a revision a day, which I think is a brilliant idea. I will set the goal of doing something poetry-related every day. That way, I won’t feel pressured to write every day and end up with at least 15 days worth of junk.

****

Along with new writing, I have sent out 10 packets of poems to various journals this week. I have at least 5 more sets I would like to finish by Monday, but we’ll see how far I get tomorrow. I am ending my spring break by going to hear Erika Sanchez and Traci Brimhall at the Rhino Reads! series in Evanston tomorrow and going to see Noel Gallagher’s High-Flying Birds Sunday night at the Riviera. Poetry and music. Yes.

4 thoughts on “The Big Poetry Giveaway 2012 (and other poetry-related stuff)

  1. Wow great job on getting all those submissions out! Enjoy the reading — I can’t wait to read Traci Brimhall’s new book.

  2. Yay! I started early, so great poetry giveaway is out. I shall visit you tomorrow to enter. I wonder if I have always called mine ‘great’ rather than ‘big’.

Leave a Reply

