Who Wants Free Poetry Books? Big Poetry Giveaway 2012

For this year’s Big Poetry Giveaway, I will be offering up two books: my second chapbook Come Out, Virginia (a limited print run by Chicago Book artist Matt Barton’s Naked Mannekin Press) and Aim Straight at the Fountain and Press Vaporize by Elizabeth Marie Young (Fence Books), winner of the 2009 Motherwell Prize. Two opposite ends of the poetry spectrum: a little indie chapbook with poems about sexuality and coming of age and a dense world of prose poems that requires time and attention to drink in the “language-lavish landscapes in which the imagination is never exhausted” ( from Lyn Hejinian’s blurb).

***

If it is your first time here, welcome! I am a poet and middle school teacher in the Chicago area. I like to give myself projects for this blog, as if I don’t already have enough to do. Last year, I posted a writing prompt exercise every Saturday – the Poetry Tow Truck. Those posts are all archived, so if you need some inspiration during NaPoWriMo, dig in!  This year, I am posting a poet/writer I admire every week and offering a prompt based on his/her work – the Poetry Mixtape.

I will be attempting NaPoWriMo, but I won’t be posting the poems. Too much pressure. So, like last year, I may post “teasers” daily – lines from the day’s draft that I like.

I smile a lot. I like to wear yoga pants. And I love Diet Coke and chocolate, both of which I am trying to cut down on for my health’s sake. Oh, and I’m training for a half marathon in May, even though I could be outrun by a fit turtle.

***

Enough of the cocktail party chatter. Back to the free books.

To be a winner, leave a comment on this post. At the end of April, I will use a random number generator to choose a winner and contact the lucky reader for a mailing address.

I will also update this post with a list of participants once it goes up at Kelli Russell Agodon’s blog.(The linked post will also give you instructions for how to participate.) Thanks again to Kelli for the wonderful idea of sharing books!

Come Out, Virginia cover

Aim Straight at the Fountain and Press Vaporize

29 thoughts on “Who Wants Free Poetry Books? Big Poetry Giveaway 2012

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo 30: That’s All, Folks | Put Words Together. Make Meaning.

Leave a Reply

