All Summer in a Day…

Not only the title of a wonderful short story by Ray Bradbury, but also the painful reality of trying to squeeze as much as possible out of this part of August.  Only a week until I go back to another round with middle schoolers, and only a week until I say goodbye to long, lazy days where I have the time and the energy to write.

I am happy that I have managed to draft quite a pile of poems this summer, despite not taking a class at the Iowa Summer Writing Festival (as I usually do) or having some other outside impetus to be creative. Working on the chapbook manuscript has been time-consuming and productive, and finding ReadWritePoem as an online community with weekly prompts has helped to keep things going. I have several submissions out to journals and a new project to ponder.

Now the challenge will be to continue once I head back to the daily routine of school. I have high hopes.

Leave a Reply

