Read Write Poem Mini-Challenge: Fall in Love with a Poet

This is the first of three drafts I will be writing in response to Read Write Poem’s latest mini-challenge. We are asked to write centos, poems that are created from the rearrangement of the lines of another poet. I decided to do something a little different -instead of a traditional poet, I will be using Beatles lyrics for my centos.  Here is the first installment. Let me know what you think!

The Fool On the Hill Stalks Lovely Rita

Day after day, alone, then–

here, there and everywhere.

If I fell in love within you

and without you, would you

love me do? Please, please me.

I want to hold your hand.

Give us a wink. We can work it out.

*

Better run for your life, little girl,

‘cause you won’t see me

on the long and winding road.

Where would I be without you?

Happiness is a warm gun, and we’ll

come together in the end.

*

A ticket to ride, money, chains –

something…the night before…yesterday?

Wait-oh, yes, wait a minute.

I don’t like you, but I love you.

No one’s really watching us.

Here comes the sun. Act naturally.

6 thoughts on “Read Write Poem Mini-Challenge: Fall in Love with a Poet

  1. i *heart* the beatles. 🙂

    and this is a good reminder that their lyrics weren’t just kicks and giggles. they were serious writers. and oh, so handsome. a dangerous combination. i know a few of those. 🙂

Leave a Reply

