RWP Mini-Challenge #3: The White Album

This is the third draft for Read Write Poem’s Mini-Challenge Fall in Love with a Poet. I am writing centos using Beatles lyrics. (Scroll down to see attempts one and two.)  This one had a few small words added, but is still created from mostly intact lines from The White Album.

Beyond the Sea: A Lament

Standing on a cast-iron shore, I greet

the brand new day like a little child.

Somewhere your song fills the air –

sing it loud so I can hear you. I’m lonely,

and half of what I say is meaningless.

*

Everybody’s got something to hide –

take a good look. You’re bound to see it.

In their eyes, there’s something lacking.

It never really mattered. I’m lonely,

and I’m coming down fast without you.

*

Sleeping sand, silent cloud, kindly send

her sailing back to me. See the waters

rise.  Looking through the bent-backed

tulips, find me in my field of grass.

I’m lonely, and if you want me to, I will.

4 thoughts on “RWP Mini-Challenge #3: The White Album

Leave a Reply

