RWP’s Virtual Book Tour: Anatomy for the Artist by Molly Gaudry

Read Write Poem’s Virtual Book Tour: Molly Gaudry’s Anatomy for the Artist

Molly Gaudry’s digital chapbook Anatomy for the Artist (online at blossombones) is a dive headlong into a world of dismemberment. Gaudry uses medical vocabulary as both integration and interruption in a piece that celebrates and objectifies the physical body as both sensual object and means of betrayal.

Gaudry takes the reader on a rhythmic and jolting journey, thrown back and forth between the objective language of anatomy and the more intimate language of relationships. And, much like a roller coaster, the dizzying pace can be disorienting, but the experience is shot-full of adrenaline and an amazing ride.

The work would be difficult for me to dissect (no pun intended) for many reasons – its unusual structure, its syntax, and the fact that it is so different from what I write myself. Any traditional type of review I may try to produce would simply not do it justice.

Instead, I chose to write a response based on some of the feelings and images that impacted me and resonated while I read and re-read the piece. I know I will read it again – each time I read, I find something new.  I hope you will read it, too.

remnants

(email me if you’d like to see the poem – I have taken it down since it is being revised for submission.)

9 thoughts on “RWP’s Virtual Book Tour: Anatomy for the Artist by Molly Gaudry

  1. This poem is fantastic. It reminds me of “Wind in a Box” by Terrance Hayes in terms of how it manipulates sound and image. I’m glad you were able to relate to Gaudry’s work.

  2. Pingback: donna vorreyer’s ‘remnants’ » mygorgeoussomewhere.org

  3. You really nailed it with the canoe/body metaphor. I’d never made that connection before, honestly, between the hollowing of one trunk and the carving of another. Thank you so much for taking the time to read, then write this.

    With gratitude,

    M.

  4. Pingback: announcing the next stop in our (virtual) tour of molly gaudry’s ‘anatomy for the artist’ « Read Write Poem

  5. Pingback: and it keeps on coming: our (virtual) tour of molly gaudry’s ‘anatomy for the artist’ « Read Write Poem

  6. Pingback: the (very) latest on our (virtual) tour of molly gaudry’s ‘anatomy for the artist’ « Read Write Poem

  7. Pingback: it’s a wrap: last stop on our (virtual) tour of molly gaudry’s ‘anatomy for the artist’ « Read Write Poem

Leave a Reply

