Last Year’s Poem-A-Day Challenge at Poetic Asides

After nearly a year of looking at thousands of poems, Robert Lee Brewer has posted the “results” of the 2009  April Poem A Day challenge on his blog Poetic Asides. He and his judges ended up with a “Top 5” list for the poems posted each day. I was pleased to make the top 5 twice, along with Bruce Niedt, who I met this year in Cape May, and Kelli Russell Agodon, whose blog Book of Kells is on my blogroll to the right. A revised version of one poem (“The Real Story of the Caves of Lascaux”) appeared in Umbrella earlier this year, and the other poem (“Lunar Eclipse”) is still being revised.  This year I will be attempting the NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month) challenge again – a poem a day in April. They won’t all be good poems, but wish me luck!

And if you are planning on trying the challenge, why not check out ReadWritePoem starting April 1st? Their first prompt for April was provided by…me! It is an exercise I do with my students and often for myself when I am stuck.

Leave a Reply

