May You Be Happy in the Life You Have Chosen

Last night, as I watched  Dickens’ A Christmas Carol with Patrick Stewart, this line stood out to me. During a flashback to the Christmas past, Ebenezer Scrooge’s girlfriend releases him from his promise of marriage as he loves money more than he loves her. These were her parting words, and they rang true in the story and for me.

This is the time of year when many people think about making resolutions, about how they want to change their lives. But our lives are the sum of the choices we have made, and we are never finished choosing as each day unfolds.  As 2010 comes to a close, I am indeed happy in the life that I have chosen: my family, my friends, my job, and my decision to write it all down.

As you enjoy the season with those you hold dear, may you too be happy in the life you have chosen.

Leave a Reply

