Clowns to the Left of Me, Jokers to the Right…

This week’s prompt over at the Big Tent asked us to consider being “stuck.”  I have been feeling stuck in several ways lately (see this post from earlier in the month), so this was a good time to tackle the idea. I ended up with a sonnet.

On Middle Ground

I live straddling electric fences,

lava on one side, spikes on the other,

the voices of my many selves pressing

in from every direction: mother,

poet, teacher, wife –never all or one

completely at the same time. A human

version of an infinite March, stuck, hung

between winter and spring, like snowfall on

green shoots of daffodils pushing their way

through the still-solid soil. This is how

I function. Juxtaposition and sway.

Navigating the indecisive now

into the delicious, one-sided land

of death, its constant, never-shifting sand.

14 thoughts on “Clowns to the Left of Me, Jokers to the Right…

  1. Donna, I love this, a nice sonnet.

    “Navigating the indecisive now

    into the delicious, one-sided land

    of death, its constant, never-shifting sand.”

    well done!

  2. Strong parts in the poem. The being stuck in “infinite March” that season between winter and spring. I like “This is how I function. Juxtaposition and sway”. Maybe this is where we all write from? I like the solid title too “On Middle Ground”. And of course, the ending, “never shifting sand”, which though that said, I felt the opposite, shifting I mean.

  3. I appreciated the skill of your sonneteering and felt for you in your dilemmas. The line:
    “This is how I function. Juxtaposition and sway.” is lovely, but I hope the depression of your final line is soon unstuck and swept away.

Leave a Reply

