Poetry Tow Truck 18: Have I Told You Lately That I Love You?

Today, National Poetry Month comes to an end. Many of you have written a poem a day for NaPoWriMo. Many of you have celebrated by attending or giving readings, discovering new poets, or revisiting your favorite writers.  If you are reading this, then poetry is probably a part of your life that could not be replaced by anything else.

But have you ever told poetry how you feel about it? For today, write a love letter to poetry itself – or to a favorite poet or poem, or to words, or to a person that brought poetry into your life…interpret the prompt however you like. And keep poems in your life every month, not just in April.

To My First Poetry Crush

You lured me down roads in a yellow wood,

stopped with me beside the same trees when

the evening was still with snow. You took me

apple-picking, bent my long hair forward over

my head to comb like the branches of birches.

Your sweet invitation to come along as you swept

the pasture – you come, too – still echoes

in my ears. We mourned the death of a hired

man, debated the merits of the trees, the rose.

But you also were acquainted with the night,

were not always gentle – your buzz saw leapt

and took the hand of a small boy, and every

spring you mended the fence to separate

your land from your neighbor’s. I should have

known that we were fire and ice – you told me

from the beginning that nothing gold could stay.

8 thoughts on “Poetry Tow Truck 18: Have I Told You Lately That I Love You?

  1. I love the way you incorporated the Frost phrases. I’m also jealous! He was my first serious poet crush and my love for poetry came from his poems. I may have to try this with different lines, or try and find another…

  2. Pingback: Napowrimo #30: A love letter to poetry | lost in translation

  3. Pingback: Day 30: Coming Undone « Put Words Together. Make Meaning.

  4. Pingback: Friday Freeforall: Roundup Time « Margo Roby: Wordgathering

Leave a Reply

