Cradle Songs and Other Sweet Sounds

Last night, I had the pleasure of hearing Stacey Lynn Brown read from her remarkable book Cradle Song. This book-length poem in three voices explores the complicated issues of race in the South through a lens that doesn’t cringe from the tough stuff. I can’t recommend the book enough – I bought it some time ago, and I had forgotten how powerful it was. Hearing her read the work was a real treat. (Not to mention one of the strongest open mics I’ve heard in a long time at Molly Malone’s – a great night of poetry.)

I also couldn’t wait to meet Stacey as she is the co-editor (with Oliver De La Paz) of a new anthology of persona poems that will be released just in time for AWP next year – and I am in it! (along with MANY other amazing poets…) You can visit their Facebook page at the book’s title (A Face to Meet the Faces) for news and updates. I believe a release reading at AWP is in the works…sweet sounds, indeed.

Looking for a great writing exercise before Saturday’s Tow Truck? Head on over to Wordgathering to learn about centos, one of my favorite ways to experiment with the words of others.

One thought on “Cradle Songs and Other Sweet Sounds

Leave a Reply

