For Love That Smiled in April is False to Me in May – Sara Teasdale

I believe I have hit the wall. In April, rolling through a poem a day, my creative energy was high, and I felt very connected to the part of my brain that generates ideas and manipulates language. The last couple of weeks, however, I have lost that feeling. I have been doing some writing, but with the exception of some drafts prompted by Margo’s Wordgathering (including yesterday’s piece), the well is pretty dry.

So, I have been reading. Reconnecting with my teacher self, getting excited about going back to the classroom next year. (Especially after a fun meeting with colleagues -yes, an actual FUN meeting!) And Saturday, I will be attending the book release of The Uncertainty of Maps by the wonderful Nina Corwin. Nina has been so supportive of me, helping me get started in Chicago open mics, giving me encouragement with my poetry. I am happy to now support her new work as well.

The Uncertainty of Maps

So, onward and upward!  I get to see one of my favorite bands, Death Cab for Cutie, in a small club tomorrow, and it will be my son’s 18th birthday this weekend as well. I will hope the words come crawling back to me soon.

2 thoughts on “For Love That Smiled in April is False to Me in May – Sara Teasdale

  1. They will, I promise, especially if you ignore them. And, at the first sign, hold strong and pretend you don’t see them. Then they push mightily.
    I adore the title of the book.
    Enjoy your weekend and don’t think about a white polar bear 🙂

  2. Glad to hear you have sources of fun and inspiration in a dry spot. Please send my congratulations to Nina at her release reading! What a great way to celebrate the Rapture! (Or After the Rapture!)

Leave a Reply

