Things Are Looking Up

I found out on Friday that I am definitely going back to the classroom next year, which makes me ridiculously happy. And when I’m happy, I write. Not always poems, but I write. So I spent quite a bit of my free time this weekend (including a lovely couple of hours on the deck today, which was finally sunny enough to enjoy) thinking ahead to next year’s classes, making notes, and planning ahead.

I also started putting together a manuscript draft for the workshop I am taking in Iowa come July, and I completed some submissions to journals I enjoy reading. I have come across two new publishing websites that intrigue me – The Postcard Press, which publishes one postcard poem or piece of prose per month, accompanied by artwork. I like this idea of mini-broadsides very much. Also, I am interested in learning more about Architrave Press, which prints accepted poems in page-sized broadsides on a Vandercook press, the same sort I used in making my broadside last summer. This intersection of text and art is an exciting thing, one which I will get to explore more later this year through an exciting project in which I will be engaged  in creating a collaborative work with two other poets and two artists. (More on that as it comes to a starting point…)

And, to top it all off, today is my son’s 18th birthday, and we did not all die in the rapture.  Three weeks left until my summer vacation. And life is good.

6 thoughts on “Things Are Looking Up

  1. You and I must see the same material. I bookmarked both Postcard and Architrave a few days ago. I especially like the sound of Architrave.
    I’m glad you are happy. I loved planning and organising class material, designing and putting units together…I shall enjoy it now vicariously 🙂
    Three weeks until ours as well, and life is good.

  2. Hooray! I’m glad to hear you’ll be back in the classroom. As much as you might need a break, those kids are definitely going to benefit more from you teaching them than pushing paperwork around (or whatever it is that deans do).

    Also happy to hear that you’ve got some collaborations going on. They can be a boon to the creative process and light a fire under artistic asses to get things accomplished. Good luck!

  3. I’ve decided to stay on for at least one more year and see how things go. The last 10 months have been some of the hardest of my life, but I have a feeling things will pick up next school year. I’ll be around this summer for a couple months.

    • Glad to hear that you are giving it another shot. I hope that you have found a rhythm in the classroom and with your new friends that will make next year a happier experience for you.

      I am SO looking forward to the collaboration project – I should have some specifics to announce soon. Let me know when you get home – I would love to see you!

Leave a Reply

