Word Burnout

Hi. It’s been a while. I think my brain was on word overload the past few days. After my class last week, I spent quite a bit of time revising my manuscript, and today I completed a crown of sonnets I have been working on for my current series of poems. My head is swirling – my brain hurts – and it is a good feeling.

Other good feelings…

Cider Press Review has accepted my poem “Morning after Mardi Gras” for their Volume 13, which should be out next year.

The wonderful new journal Mixed Fruit has asked me to sign on as a slush pile reader, which I was happy to do. Check out Issue One here, and submit!

I am excited about the draft graphics that Tim Venchus is creating for my upcoming chapbook cover, and I hope that we can work it out with the publisher, Maverick Duck Press.

Finished off the cycle of Harry Potter movies that started 10 years ago when my son was 8. We saw the movie yesterday with my mom, our partner for ALL of the HP films. I am not ashamed to admit that I cried- for the story, yes; for the end of the adventure, yes; but also for the end of a shared interest that has connected me to my son for 10 years of his life. I took solace in the fact that he hinted that he might also be talked into watching the new Winnie the Pooh movie. Oh, nostalgia.

6 thoughts on “Word Burnout

    • I did – and then it was the end of the school year and I forgot about sending you comments! Let me see if it is still in my email, and I promise to look at it again before the weekend is out.

    • Harry Potter was from about age 6 on (books first, then films…) but Winnie the Pooh was his favorite from baby through about age 5. We are on the lookout to borrow some of my girlfriends’ kids for cover…

Leave a Reply

