All Gates, All Opportunities

The world is all gates, all opportunities, strings of tension waiting to be struck.
Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

When you are throwing a party or having friends for dinner, there is always a short period of time when you are in a state of suspension. The food is prepared, the house is clean (or as clean as it is going to get), the music is playing, and all you have to do is wait.  That is the feeling I have right now with my writing.

Several individual sets of poems should be coming to the point where editors are saying yes or no, thanks. Manuscript contests will be reporting in December or January. I have done some new writing here and there, but I don’t have any sense of perpetual motion or drive like I did when working this summer. I should be prepping my next round of individual submissions. I should be moving forward. I should be pushing myself to draft. I’m making sure that the last eight or nine Tow Truck prompts get written to complete the year, but I haven’t had the energy to write much else here.

Maybe it’s the time of year. Maybe it’s the weather. Maybe I just need to get the first quarter of school under my belt and done. Maybe the best I can do is keep watching, keep listening, keep thinking, keep trying. Write it all down. And hope that some of it makes sense.

 

Leave a Reply

