Let me paint a thank-you on my palm.

Anne Sexton’s poem “Welcome Morning” is one of my favorite litanies of ordinary blessings, especially poignant from a writer for whom these simple pleasures inevitably proved not enough to overcome her stronger, darker demons.

Today, I was happy to spend time with my family – playing Scrabble, arguing over the doneness of the turkey, eating like gluttons, taking naps, and watching football. What plenty. What love. What laughter. So many things for which to be thankful.

I am also grateful for words and for people who love them as I do. For the small successes I should celebrate more. For the opportunities to share my words with others. For my friends who are writers. For those who are not who support my writing. For my colleagues who make me smile. For my students who do the same.

Wishing everyone a happy Thanksgiving today and the ability to count our blessings every day.

2 thoughts on “Let me paint a thank-you on my palm.

  1. Pingback: Poetry Mixtape 44: One More Folded Sunset, Still Quite Warm | Put Words Together. Make Meaning.

Leave a Reply

