Poetry Tow Truck 49: Nothing Gold Can Stay

When you were young, you may have heard of the concept of “golden” birthdays – when you turn the same age as the date of the month you were born. Now, this can be an exciting proposition if your birthday is on the 7th when you turn 7 – or even the 13th when you turn 13.  But if you have a late birthday like me (the 23rd), at that point, this random declaration of something special becomes rather meaningless. But other things designated as golden – anniversaries (50 years!), opportunities – really are interesting or special.

Since I am 49 years old, I am designating this Tow Truck post (the 49th one) as our “golden” post. So for today’s prompt, use the word golden in one of the following ways:

1.  As an acrostic starter (writing the letters down the page)

2. To turn something traditionally golden (golden egg, golden sunset, Goldilocks, Golden Grahams cereal) and use it in a poem about darkness.

3. Using Robert Frost’s “Nothing Gold Can Stay” as inspiration, write a poem about ephemeral things.

Thanks for sticking with me – only a few more Tow Truck posts to go before we switch gears for 2012!

10 thoughts on “Poetry Tow Truck 49: Nothing Gold Can Stay

  1. I found your prompt at ‘namingconstellations.wordpress.com’ while visiting The River (so thanks to Joseph Harker) and to you too! Enjoy!

    12/5/11 Not Eve’s Pomegranate
    The last throws of summer, somewhere
    A golden apple at the grocers, buried under others
    Bruised from the weight of the piled high display

    I will look for that hidden treasure
    Honey on my tongue
    Chewed by my teeth, then down my throat

    The last throws of summer, somewhere
    Someone might have wished to pay a kings ransom
    Just to have one bite, but instead they picked and packaged

    The golden orb of the gods
    I’ll have to wash off the skin
    So I can eat that too – the last part to absorb the sun’s rays

    The last throws of summer, somewhere
    Bringing a golden moment into my kitchen
    I will enjoy every bite, even the bruise

    JulesPaige/davh

  2. Sorry, Donna, I’m in a silly mood:

    Gee whizz accrostics are hard
    Oh why did I start this?
    Let me see: It was that
    Donna V who made me.
    Even though I can’t resist it
    Never will I be give in graciously.

    Great
    Occasions are golden.
    Let it be said:
    Don’t despair when you pass fifty –
    Every birthday from now on is
    Not a blight but a bonus.

  3. Pingback: Are We There Yet? The Friday Freeforall « Margo Roby: Wordgathering

Leave a Reply

