Post-Getaway Post

Last weekend, I spent another successful writing weekend in New Jersey at Peter Murphy’s Poetry and Prose Getaway, this year at the beautiful Seaview Resort. It was a weekend packed with new writing, workshops, panels, readings, and good friends as well. Kristin LaTour traveled with me this year, and we met up with kickass poet and Reflex partner Rachel Bunting for a weekend of good laughs, good food and even better writing.

I had productive, insightful workshops with James Richardson and Laure-Anne Bosselaar and spent time talking poetry and life with my mentor, friend and amazing poet Douglas Goetsch. Pulitzer Prize winner Stephen Dunn gave a reading from his work Sunday night, celebrating a new limited edition chapbook of his poems and a retrospective museum display about his career and revision process in the hotel’s branch of the local Noyes Gallery and Museum. And, as one of the highlights of my weekend, I had my butt properly whupped at several games of ping pong by Mr. Dunn and Doug Goetsch on Friday night in the game room. (I will have to practice for next year…)

As usual, Peter’s prompts and the electrifying atmosphere gave me several new and exciting drafts. I also learned a new and extremely effective discussion technique that I can’t wait to try out on my seventh graders. The Getaway never fails to amaze.

If you want to get a hand on Peter’s prompts without the traveling, his new book of prompts and poems inspired by them is called Challenges for the Delusional. Get your hands on it if you love delicious, complicated prompts that can be used over and over again. I cannot wait to go back.

One thought on “Post-Getaway Post

  1. Donna,
    The workshop sound invigorating and fun. As a writer who both attends and leads writing workshops, I’d love to get your perspective on what makes a workshop “good.” Any thoughts?

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

