Writers and Editors and Publishers…Oh, My!

Looking forward to my weekend at AWP. I have a little bit of trepidation about the sheer numbers of people (I am not crazy about big crowds), but I am excited to see sessions involving teaching writing, sessions about using the correspondence of others in new work (since I now have nearly a manuscript’s worth of Bishop/Lowell poems inspired by their letters), and time to browse the wonderful selection of small presses represented at the Book Fair.

I will be attending the release party reading for Face to Meet the Faces, a new anthology of persona poems in which I am proud to have a poem alongside such talent as Aimee Nezhukumatathil, Patricia Smith, Nina Corwin, and Tara Betts. I plan to swoon like a teenage girl a little if I get to meet Aimee – I love her poems.

I also look forward to meeting (in person) some great poets with whom I have a “virtual” relationship: Dave Bonta, Kathleen Kirk, Kelli Russell Agodon, Laura E. Davis and more. And the icing on the cake? Spending time with kick-ass friend and poet Rachel Bunting who is 341 kinds of awesome.

2 thoughts on “Writers and Editors and Publishers…Oh, My!

  1. How wonderfully lovely. You do more and get more out of your literary life than anyone I know, and you hold down a full-time job, and are a mother. Super Goddess!
    You will be meeting the people I hope to meet some day, and spending time with the one I wish to meet most aside from you, Rachel. Have a blast.

Leave a Reply

