A Poem A Day in April- NaPoWriMo Preparation

Tomorrow marks the beginning of the NaPoWriMo challenge – write a poem every day in April. I have completed this challenge the past two years, and I will attempt it again, but with a slightly different attitude.

I will count revision work as a day’s work on a poem. I will count preparing a submission as a day’s work. I will count reading a significant amount of a poetry book as a day’s work. I will count attending and/or giving a poetry reading as a day’s work. And, of course, drafting a poem will absolutely count.

So, although I may not be posting a poem every day, I will try to comment each day on what poetry-related thing I am working on. But if I don’t? That’s fine, too. I don’t have to publicly post everything I do to know that I did it. 

So that’s it- stress-free NaPoWriMo!  Get writing!

4 thoughts on “A Poem A Day in April- NaPoWriMo Preparation

  1. Donna, such a great idea! I often hesitate to give myself “credit” for all the many things poets do besides write new poems — reading, revising, submitting, supporting other writers, etc. Thanks for the reminder that it all counts.

Leave a Reply

