NaPoWriMo Day 2: Branches and Burgers

Last night, I went to see Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds. Great new CD from him and a very entertaining show, including some old Oasis tunes like “Little by Little,” “Half the World Away,” and a great crowd sing-along of “Don’t Look Back in Anger.” One of his new songs, “If I Had A Gun,” contains the line if I had a gun/I’d shoot a hole into the sun/and lover, burn this city down for you. I count this as a poetry event.

***

Today in class, I shared Mary Oliver’s “Have You Ever Tried to Enter the Long, Black Branches?” with my seventh graders. They loved it, especially the part where she exhorts the reader to put on your coat, leave your desk!  I will be reading them a poem every day in April and will ask them to choose ONE line to put on the board as a collection. (Maybe a little cento action at the end of the month…hmmm.)Today I chose Are you breathing just a little and calling it a life? as an example. We’ll see what they choose tomorrow.

***

I am currently trying to cram in my poem a day time/posting time before several people descend upon our home for a goodbye barbecue (thus the burgers in the title) for a visiting friend who will be leaving tomorrow morning. So, here is your “teaser” line for today’s day 2 poem tentatively titled “The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse Descend on Main Street, USA”:

The fourth/one, thin as a decade, delights in/our particular panic, begins to laugh,/his voice a felled string from some/ancient chord. 

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day 2: Branches and Burgers

Leave a Reply

