NaPoWriMo Day 5: Lying and Stealing

Yevgeny’s Yevtushenko’s “Lies” fit right into my class today as we are preparing to start reading Harper Lee’s To Kill A Mockingbird. The poem’s topic – the role of adults in opening the eyes of the young to the realities of the world – led to interesting discussions that somehow included Santa Claus, the witness protection program, brainwashing, and whether or not you like someone’s haircut.  Line of the day: They know what you mean./They are people, too.

***

Molly Spencer has been really helping me out with NaPoWriMo. In her post today, she discusses her love for the table of contents, which sent me to the TOC of one of my favorite poetry books (Suzanne Buffam’s The Irrationalist) as a prompt for a free write, which led me to a draft I quite like. Once I got into the draft, the Table of Contents words and phrases rather disappeared, but that’s what a good prompting will do!  I will share the whole draft today, and I welcome feedback that may help with revision down the line.

Faulty

You wake, the carpet soaked,

something amiss again, the wild

serpent tangle of pipes spewing

its flotsam of rusted azaleas.

(Draft removed for revision.)

 

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day 5: Lying and Stealing

  1. Wow – what great lines: “something amiss again, the wild/serpent tangle of pipes spewing” !! I have The Irrationalist sitting on my desk…. it’s next in line to read. Glad to hear you like it so much.

  2. Pingback: NaPoWriMo Day 9: Better Late than Never | Put Words Together. Make Meaning.

Leave a Reply

