NaPoWriMo Day 10: Borrowed Lines

Ten days in to NaPoWriMo.  Lots of prompt sites and other places to get inspiration, but today I chose to “borrow” a line from poet Marty McConnell, who occasionally posts “Borrow this line” tweets (@martyoutloud). I borrowed her tweet from 4/8 – “something ancient and erupting, something damaged in production” -to write a draft today that I quite like. Here is an excerpt – tentative title is “When You Ask Me If I Am Happy”

Do not ask/me again. This morning, the sky/burned so blue, my bones/ached to touch it, and you grazed/the back of my neck to shiver.

***

Lines from yesterday:

In sleep, you turn away/twine your limbs in ghost down/dream of a breakfast table/ ripe with berries

Leave a Reply

