NaPoWriMo Day 29: Silenced

The last two weeks have seen me fall off the wagon, so to speak, in terms of creating new work. I have been reading quite a bit, revising, planning ahead for my summer writing time – but I haven’t drafted anything new in at least a week and a half. And this weekend, when I planned to take up the pen and get at it for a last push, terrible news about the sudden death of a friend stopped me.

I had no language that seemed to make sense. I thought of Jack Gilbert’s opening line from one of my favorite poems: “How astonishing it is that language can almost mean, and frightening that it does not quite.”

I conjured up a few words of comfort, shared a few phone conversations and email exchanges, but none of them seemed right, seemed anywhere close to what I was feeling, seemed appropriate to lift the veil of confusion and sadness. The words may eventually come, but for now, they will have to wait.

Leave a Reply

