NaPoWriMo 30: That’s All, Folks

And so ends another April. It’s raining here in Chicago, and everything is green. A new start. And another big chunk of new writing completed. Although I did not write thirty new drafts, I did meet my goal of doing something poetry-related nearly every day. The tally goes something like this:

  • 23 new drafts
  • 5 submission sets to journals
  • 4 readings (was a part of 2 and audience for 2)
  • several engaging activities with my seventh graders
  • Ten poetry books read
  • Numerous online journals read
  • Several poems revised
  • Work plan for summer writing completed
  • AWP proposal completed and submitted

Not bad. I’ll take it. And today I also discovered some free-write work in my journal from late March that I had completely forgotten about. It was like reading somebody else’s work. Always a good feeling.

I will choose a giveaway winner tomorrow using a random number generator. Last chance to sign up before midnight here! For tonight, I will leave you with these wise words from JFK:  “When power leads man toward arrogance, poetry reminds him of his limitations. When power narrows the area of man’s concern, poetry reminds him of the richness and diversity of existence. When power corrupts, poetry cleanses.”

3 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo 30: That’s All, Folks

  1. Applause! Huzzahs!

    Thank you also for keeping up the PMT prompts throughout the month, as I think some of my best thoughts were drummed up by those. (And I will get to the nepotism one before Saturday. This I swear.) The fact that you did all this AND kept your classroom involved is an astonishing feat of energy.

Leave a Reply

