Poetry Mixtape 21: K.I.S.S.

Writing longer poems. Writing poems in parts. Writing poems that thread different subjects into one cohesive unit. These are often things I think I should be trying to do – I naturally write short (between 14 and 32 lines) and whenever I try to “unnaturally” write into them, stretch them out, they seem to be too self-aware and bloated to sound like me.

At times like this (today was one of those times, as many of the poems I read in recent issues of favorite journals were long by my standards), I often reach for the poems of Kay Ryan. Many people know her as the poet laureate from 2008-2010. I know her as the best poetic reminder to KISS – keep it simple, stupid.

Her poems are graceful, elegant…and SHORT. They often include elements of rhyme, which I do not often attempt but admire when done well. One of my favorites is from her book Say Uncle:


Crown

Too much rain

loosens trees.

In the hills giant oaks

fall upon their knees.

You can touch parts

you have no right to-

places only birds

should fly to.

This simple three-sentence poem has layers, including the title’s significance. There is majesty in a tree, especially the aptly chosen oak, and being able to touch a part of what is mostly inaccessible to humans also hints at something divine. The poem can be read literally – when a tree falls, you CAN touch parts of it that would normally be off limits – but it can be read in many other ways as well. And it reminds me that a short poem is not necessarily less complicated or interesting than a long one.

***

If you want to write:

1. Write a three-sentence poem where the title helps create layers of meaning.

OR

2. Write a poem that incorporates both rhyme and a natural image.

17 thoughts on “Poetry Mixtape 21: K.I.S.S.

  1. Pingback: Short and sweet | Vivinfrance's Blog

  2. Pingback: Stem | Whimsygizmo's Blog

  3. I can’t agree with you more about the need for short poems. To me there like a few short breaths speaking from the heart. Maybe that will be my poem. So glad to find you. carol

  4. Pingback: Playtime: Friday Freeforall « Margo Roby: Wordgathering

  5. Pingback: Yarn « my words are alive

  6. Pingback: ~Lady of the Wood~ « Metaphors and Smiles

  7. Pingback: The Face of my Father | Hoofprints In My Garden

Leave a Reply

