Taking Stock

The storm last night was one of those booming ones where the thunder rumbles and it thrums through your whole house, your whole body until you wonder how anything is standing. The rain was welcome, needed, and a great lullaby.

*

A short story that I revised extensively in Iowa has found a home at Extract(s) today. Another revised poem for which I have a fondness has found a home as well. (Molly Spencer, you got me on the revision train!) I have sent out 19 submissions in 19 days this month. I am creating new work, and I am doing more revisions on a series of poems that have been hibernating since I wrote them around spring break. These are good things.

*

I have a reading tomorrow night with some very talented poets at the Poetry Foundation’s Printer’s Ball, an annual event in Chicago where you can pick up free journals and books from publishers, drink free beer, listen to music, see art, and hear poetry. I am honored to be reading with Nina Corwin, Erika Mikkalo, Melissa Severin, and Jennifer Steele representing Woman Made, a beautiful gallery of women’s art in Chicago. Hopefully I can get someone to take some photos…

*

Off to a barbecue with my middle school colleagues where we check in about halfway through the summer and enjoy each other’s company without the stress or the confines of the school walls where we usually gather.

2 thoughts on “Taking Stock

  1. Congrats! It’s always a beautiful thing when work finds a home! And..um…19 subs in 19 days??? Wow. I really need to hop some kind of train myself….

    Have fun at the reading…. 🙂

    BTW, I have been hearing about that storm you guys had from several people…it sounds wonderful. I love a summer storm.

Leave a Reply

