In Threes?

I’m sure you’ve all heard the theories about both good and bad things coming in threes. For instance, three sets of papers to grade today equals 210 papers, some bleary eyes, and an achy comment hand. On the other hand, a three-day weekend for President’s Day equals time tomorrow to sleep in, work out, and do some cabinet cleaning, which I actually like to do (well, compared to other types of cleaning).

But the really good thing is that, as of this weekend, I will have THREE books coming out this year. (No, that’s not a typo. Yes, I realize how blessed and lucky I am.)

In addition to my full-length manuscript with Sundress Publications and my chapbook with dancing girl press, Redbird Chapbooks has accepted my series called The Imagined Life of the Pioneer Wife for publication later this year. They make beautiful books, and I am thrilled to be working with them on this project, which you first heard about here earlier this fall when this persona hijacked all of my drafting and became somewhat of an obsession.

And from all these threes, what have I learned? That it pays to persevere. That it pays to let yourself be overtaken, whether with ideas or with the need for rest. That the best thing about all the other good things is having people with which to share the good news.

7 thoughts on “In Threes?

    • Thanks, Nic and Maureen! I have been working hard on this particular project for the past several months, so I am delighted to be working with Shelly from Redbird Chapbooks. She is a keen and thoughtful editor.

Leave a Reply

