and…we’re back. Ready,set, April!

I couldn’t have asked for a better week of vacation. Along with the sunny weather and most excellent company, I had hours to read and write and think, a definite luxury. I wrote a lot of what I can only call fragments – not poems, not stories, just little chunks of text that I am looking forward to reading back and manipulating into something recognizable. I was absolutely blown away reading Dean Young’s Fall Higher, so much so that I read it at least three times and even wrote a cento using the first lines of Young’s poems.

*

And tomorrow begins National Poetry Month! If you haven’t already done so, head on over to this previous post and leave a comment to win some poetry books from me. I will NOT be attempting poem-a-day this year, but I will do as I did last year – I will try to engage with poetry in some way every day – writing, reading, attending readings, teaching poems to my class, submitting – all of these will “count” toward my daily goal.

*

If you are looking for some inspiration for poem-a-day, don’t forget that you have the tow truck archives (all prompts) and the Mix Tape archives (favorite poems with prompts) at your disposal.

*

Some new poems should be appearing online this month, including the debut of the pioneer wife – I will keep you posted about where and when. Write well, write often, and remember, April is only the cruelest month if you let it be.

2 thoughts on “and…we’re back. Ready,set, April!

Leave a Reply

