Whirlwind…

This has been quite a week.

Tuesday night, we brought home new dogs, 2 1/2 year old brothers from the local shelter. We named them Gunner (after our favorite football team – Arsenal FC) and Scout. Despite a little “first-day-left-alone” mischief, they are settling in well and are very sweet, affectionate boys. I have not, however, been used to the energy of young dogs for quite some time, and I am exhausted. (They are worth it – but I’m tired.)

It’s also nearing mid-quarter and “we-give-up” time at work, the middle-schoolers with a horrible case of spring fever, especially since the weather has been less than spring-like in the Chicago area. It’s also the time of year when there is a sudden “push” for 8 million decisions to rear their heads, decisions that should be made BEFORE we leave school. This makes for a very stressful time.

Unfortunately, it is poetry month events and  writing that have taken the biggest hits. By the time I have arrived home this week, taken care of the dogs, made dinner, worked out, and taken care of the dogs again, I hit the pillow and it’s all over. Tonight, for example, I had planned to attend a Rhino magazine reading in Evanston. By noon, the prospect of going home, taking care of the dogs, and then driving 45 minutes to an hour to get to the reading by 6 PM was too much for me to think about. So here I am, chilling with Gunner and Scout who are curled by my feet, chewing on their stuffed hedgehogs. I may be a poetry copout, but for the first time this week, I am relaxed.

Besides, every month is poetry month, isn’t it?

Image

Leave a Reply

