the dust of daily life

The purpose of art is washing the dust of daily life off our souls.
Pablo Picasso

Lately, I have been buried in the dust of daily life. The most hectic time of year at the middle school. New dogs. The son home for a brief 6 days before returning south to school for the summer. Trying to write covered in dust just leaves crumbs on the paper.

Luckily, some spring showers have come to wipe things clean. The final proof of The Imagined Life of the Pioneer Wife arrived today, and it is more lovely than I could have imagined. Parchment paper. Internal botanical illustrations. An amazing photographic cover. It should be available for purchase VERY SOON! I will be sure to let you all know. Working with Redbird Chapbooks has been a delightful experience all around. They took extreme care with my words and in making sure they were presented in a beautiful way.

And…my residency is less than a month away! I have made my travel arrangements to head to the Kimmel-Harding-Nelson Center for the Arts on June 10, and I hope to be posting regularly while there to keep you updated on new projects and how I handle all that time alone with my thoughts.

*******

(and now it’s time for a word from our sponsor…one of them, anyway)

Also, good friend and fellow poet Kristin LaTour’s new chapbook Agoraphobia is now available from dancing girl press, who will also release my chap We Build Houses of Our Bodies later this year. Check out Kristin’s book and the press, now having its summer mixtape promotion – 5 chaps for 25 dollars!

Leave a Reply

