A different kind of thinking

Another rainy day, humid as hell and the perfect day to do a different kind of thinking, the kind that impacts others. Although I hate to admit it, I spent several hours today planning ahead for the upcoming school year.

People think that teachers just switch off in the summer, leave everything behind and just show up in August ready to wing it for another year. I hate to burst that bubble, but this is just not so. I do take my share of time to concentrate on decidedly un-teacherly activities- music festivals, my own writing, poetry readings, enjoying the weather, reading novels, running, etc. But good teachers are always thinking back on the previous year and looking forward to how to make things better. And that takes time. Since this week is the least scheduled of the summer, it was a good time for me to do some of that thinking. And, I had an ulterior motive.

All signs point to my book coming out at the beginning of the school year. The better planned I am for the first few months, the more I will be able to enjoy planning readings and other events related to the book without stressing myself out or feeling guilty about neglecting the time it takes to thoughtfully prepare for classes

A different kind of thinking.

Leave a Reply

