Last Frantic Reading Binge

Once the school year starts on Monday, my days will be jammed with hormonal pre-teenagers, and my evenings will consist of working out, grading, cooking dinner, and trying to relax with my husband and the dogs. I carve out time to write, but what suffers the most is uninterrupted time to read. 

This week, I finished two novels: Transatlantic by Colum McCann and NOS4A2 by Joe Hill. I also finished Hannah Stephenson’s wonderful collection In the Kettle, the Shriek and Mary Stone Dockery’s  chapbook Aching Buttons (both of which I will review here soon) and started reading Mixology by Adrian Matejka.

It will be a while before I can read two novels in a week, but I plan to keep up with the poetry reading, which is easier to maintain. Waiting on the desk are The Way Home by Ashley Inguanta, The Big Smoke by Adrian Matejka, and finishing You Good Thing by Dara Weir.

Whew. 

What are you reading, everyone?

9 thoughts on “Last Frantic Reading Binge

  1. A sort of criticism/cultural investigation/sociological/psychological…something called The Body in Pain: The Making and Unmaking of the World; a craft-ish book called Mapping the Line; the collected Thom Gunn.

  2. Happy to see my book in such good hands/company! 🙂

    I am doing the exact same thing, knowing that the year is about to start. I just read “A Book of Silence”–excellent and interesting essays around the search for and meanings of quiet/silence. I’m also reading House of Leaves….I’ve been meaning to do this for a long time! I don’t know when I’ll finish, but fun to go through it right now.

Leave a Reply

