Yikes.

It’s been two weeks since I posted here, and there’s really no excuse other than I’ve been getting back into the rhythms of middle school. The constant buzz. The blurting out. The manic panic of teenagers changing their mindset from summer to bummer. (I’m the bummer…as are all of their teachers.) The excitement of the first class where 29 kids all take out a notebook and write for 30 minutes without stopping. (That would be my excitement…)

The end of August also merited time to relax as September will be jam-packed with many of the things I love best: good friends (visiting from England), good food (a group visit to Alinea, the best restaurant I have ever been to), good music (three days of Riotfest in Chicago with my son coming home on the Megabus to join us), and poem-related goodness!

On the poetry front, I will be at the Aurora Catch an Author Fair this Saturday, September 7, to promote The Imagined Life of the Pioneer Wife alongside other Illinois authors, including my friend Kristin LaTour. And – fanfare, drumroll, let the marching band commence – on the 18th, I should officially have my book and will be welcomed for a launch reading at the Hinsdale Public Library. (Should is in italics as we have been waiting for a delayed proof…but I think we’ll make it!)

Also, after a bit of a dry spell with new work, I also have poems and flash fiction forthcoming in six different journals, all of which should publish sometime in September/October. I’d say that’s a pretty exciting September!

Of course, I was saddened by the passing this week of Seamus Heaney. I feel lucky and blessed to have been able to attend a reading/talk last year at the Art Institute. My post about that reading is here.

Thanks for sticking with me, and I promise to keep you up-to-date and be back in a schedule of reviewing and doing more than just popping by my own space once this crazy month is over. Happy Back-to-School to you all!

One thought on “Yikes.

Leave a Reply

