Oh, Sun, I’m so grateful to you!

It was the perfect summer day here today (around 75 yet breezy), so I took every opportunity to run and walk and read and write and eat outside before sequestering myself for homework tonight. Plus today’s topic was conversation in poems, thus the line from Frank O’Hara’s “A True Account of Talking to the Sun at Fire Island” as a title, so there’s that. ( I could have used Crane’s line “Because it is bitter, And because it is my heart,” but that’s not really how I’m feeling today. )

I did a LOT of drafting – some stream of consciousness, some for the exercises given by our instructor, and some that was culled from random phrases in the small Moleskin I carry in my purse all year to pull out on occasions such as these when there is no particular “project” I am working on. I am enjoying these “experiments” – I’m not sure that they are poems at this point, but that can come later.

Trying to make it a point to read something other than poems while I’m here – yesterday’s wisdom came from Mark Strand’s essays – today, two of MANY underlined passages from Madness, Rack, and Honey by Mary Ruefle:

from “On Beginnings”:  “You might say a poem is a semicolon, a living semicolon, what connects the first line to the last, the act of keeping together that whose nature it is to fly apart.”

from “On Sentimentality”: “A good poem is seldom comfortable; either it vanquishes us with anguish or electrifies us with ecstasy or makes us pause and consider a new sense of the world or unravels us altogether, but never does it make us feel comfortable…”

I also started reading Interrobang by Jessica Piazza, and I am going to be re-reading this book many times. The use of form and rhyme is something I’ve been experimenting with more and more, and I think I have much to learn from this book. Plus the organizing principle is unique and clever. (And who can resist a sonnet crown? I mean, THREE different sonnet crowns?)

Tomorrow in class, we tackle Fernando Pessoa, which I tried to read carefully tonight, but it just made my brain hurt. (I’ll have to try again with fresh eyes in the morning…) Here’s hoping the family who was either smoking or cooking in their room last night (and kept setting off the smoke alarm in their room and waking up the whole floor as the desk clerk came up to reset it) has checked out and paid their “no smoking” room fines. Then I can get a good night’s sleep and be grateful for the sun again tomorrow.

*

Today’s Soundtrack:

  • Running: Kongos – Lunatic
  • Around town: Black Keys – Turn Blue and Kaiser Chiefs Education, Education, Education and War
  • Drafting – God is an Astronaut – All is Violent, All is Bright and Far from Refuge
  • Reading – A combination of Pandora’s Meditation Radio and background television noise from shows I care nothing about. (Dead silence at home is okay – in a hotel, when alone, it kind of freaks me out unless I’m going to sleep.)

 

 

3 thoughts on “Oh, Sun, I’m so grateful to you!

Leave a Reply

