The One Where I Have Been Remiss

First, I have not perished, nor have I run away to join the circus. (Too smelly. And clowns. Enough said. ) But it has been over a month since I wrote anything here, and for that I apologize. Life happens, even when it’s not chronicled online.  So, what chaos has ensued that has kept me from you?

1. Kitchen Remodel. Down to studs. Everything gone. Trying to cook in a toaster oven and a microwave crammed into the laundry room. This is not doing wonders for my sanity nor my waistline.

2. New Job Assignment at Work. Creating curriculum week by week for four new classes and faculty coaching. Love, love, love it. But I’m oh, so exhausted when I get home.

3. ‘Tis the Season. Of concerts. In the last four weeks, we have been to four separate shows ( Robyn, Arcade Fire, Linkin Park/30 Seconds to Mars and tomorrow – Kongos) as well as spending all three days last weekend stomping through the rain, cold and mud at RiotFest. Each of these things takes much longer to recover from than it used to. Ah, old age.

4. Mom time! Said Riotfest (mentioned above) brought a week-long visit from my son, who has been living and working in Nashville since graduation. I loved having him home – the house had a whole different energy. We didn’t do anything special, just hung out, but it was a good week.

5. Baby!  My niece and her husband welcomed their first child into the world, a beautiful daughter, and how exciting! The first great-grandchild for my parents, and the first of my nieces and nephews to have a baby. I am looking forward to meeting her in person very soon.

6. Poetry things. I had the pleasure of hearing three incredible poets read at the Poetry Foundation last night: Matthea Harvey, Claudia Rankine, and the fabulous Katie Ford, all Graywolf authors. They were inspiring. I have been making revisions to the second manuscript that was accepted by Sundress earlier this year, and I have finally been drafting some new work.

So, if I don’t lose my mind from having a Rubbermaid container as a pantry and washing dishes in the laundry tub, I promise I will try to get myself back on track here. Not that you miss me. But I kind of missed you.

4 thoughts on “The One Where I Have Been Remiss

Leave a Reply

