Fill-in-the-Blanks with Kelli Russell Agodon

IMG_3003
Kelli Russell Agodon is a poet and writer, as well as the cofounder of Two Sylvias Press in Seattle. I first “met” Kelli in the online community ReadWritePoem, and I have always admired not only her work, but her efforts to build community among poets both virtually and in her own geographical area. When I got to meet her in person at AWP in Seattle, I found her to be just as warm and welcoming as I had imagined, and I couldn’t think of a better way to begin this new series than by asking Kelli to fill in the blanks.
My questions are below, with Kelli’s responses underlined to indicate where she (guess what…) filled in the blanks.
***

If my poems could be represented by an actor/actress, they would be Olympia Dukasis, Clairee from Steel Magnolias–smart, sassy, and well-accessorized.
A skill I would like to possess but do not is the ability to eat a muffin like a normal person.
The cartoon/cartoon character which represents my life outlook would be Casper the Friendly Ghost.
My superhero name would be Kellraiser (or better, Kellrazor). My superpowers would include lollygagging, listamaking, and overindulgence, and my “Kryptonite”  would be  is key lime pie.
 
I would much rather nap than partake in small talk.
 
My favorite grocery store aisle/section is snack aisle because I’m addicted to Dill Pickle Sunflower Seeds by Spitz.
 
The strangest thing I carry in my purse/bag is probably a Sharpie marker– I always have one with me; they are so useful! 
***
More about Kelli Russell Agodon:
You can connect with Kelli on Twitter: www.twitter.com/kelliagodon
Sign up for her newsletter here: www.tinyletter.com/agodon
Kelli’s latest books are a collection of poems, Hourglass Museum (White Pine Press, 2014) which was a finalist for the Julie Suk Poetry Prize and The Daily Poet: Day-By-Day Prompts For Your Writing Practice, which she coauthored with Martha Silano.
Or with Two Sylvias Press:
Our upcoming Two Sylvias Press Poetry Book Prize, The Wilder Series, for all women over 50:  http://twosylviaspress.com/wilder-series-poetry-book-prize.html
Books & creativity tools she recommends from Two Sylvias Press are:The Poet Tarot & Guidebook

***
Extended Bio:
Kelli Russell Agodon is a poet, writer, and editor from the Pacific Northwest. Born and raised in Seattle, She was educated at the University of Washington and Pacific Lutheran University’s Rainier Writing Workshop where she received her Master of Fine Arts in creative writing.
Her most recent collection of poems is Hourglass Museum (White Pine Press, 2014), which was recently named a runner-up for the Julie Suk Poetry Prize honoring the best book of poems published by a small press. She is also the author of The Daily Poet: Day-By-Day Prompts for Your Writing Practicewhich she coauthored with Martha Silano.
Her second collection, Letters from the Emily Dickinson Room was chosen by Pulitzer Prize winner Carl Dennis for the White Pine Press Book Prize, and it was named as Winner of ForeWord Magazine’s Book of the Year in Poetry as well as a Finalist for the Washington State Book Prize. Her other books include Small Knots, Geography, and Fire On Her Tongue: An Anthology of Contemporary Women’s Poetry. 
Kelli is the cofounder of Two Sylvias Press where she works as an editor as well as being the Co-Director of Poets on the Coast: A Retreat for Women Poets, and a member of the Seattle7 Writers, a nonprofit group that raises awareness and money for literacy organizations in the Pacific Northwest. She is an avid paddleboarder, mountain biker, and hiker. Visit her website at: www.agodon.com
***
Fill in the Blanks With… will become a regular interview feature here, hopefully running weekly. The questions will never be serious and never require more than filling in the blanks in whatever way you see fit.  If you would like to be featured in a future post, please leave a comment!
4 thoughts on “Fill-in-the-Blanks with Kelli Russell Agodon

  1. Hi, I’m Alexis Rhone Fancher, sister binder on Facebook, and published author (How I Lost My Virginity To Michael Cohen & Other Heart Stab Poems-Sybaritic Press, 2014). I’m photography editor of Fine Linen Magazine, and poetry editor of Cultural Weekly, where I also publish a monthly photo essay, “The Poet’s Eye.” You can check me out on my website, alexisrhonefancher.com.
    I’d love to “fill in the blanks.” Let me know if you’re interested. Thanks! alexis@lapoetrix.com and/or
    Alexis Fancher on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

