Fill in the Blanks with Jeannine Hall Gailey

JeannineInternetHeadshot

Social media has brought many writers to my attention, and many of them are warm and wonderful people. Jeannine is one of those – generous with her time, advice, and a real supporter of the poetry community. Jeannine’s books are on heavy rotation in my reading list for teaching me about book structure and persona. (I particularly recommend her newest The Robot Scientist’s Daughter). Jeannine is always busy – be sure to check out her projects below, and follow her on Twitter for great poetry info. Let’s see how she filled in the blanks…

*

Robots still find it very difficult to walk on two feet and will surely evolve into Matrix-esque organic spider shapes in the future.

*

Anything you can do, I can do better…except read maps!  I have an inherited inability to never tell which direction I’m heading, or to look at a map and figure out how to get somewhere. I have to memorize left and right turns by driving them over and over.

*

The spa treatment that best represents my writing would be the five-layer facial because I love to use masks in my persona poetry!

*

As a child, I was afraid of alligators, but now I am mostly afraid of murderous robots. Just kidding! I’m not afraid of those at all. Unless you mean hacked drones. Because I am totally scared of those.

*

At a party, I’ll be the one talking animatedly about 1. Star Wars 2. Miyazaki movies or 3. my love of early Joss Whedon work and only meh-ness for current Joss Whedon work.

*

An under appreciated use for a  beet is as an impromptu lip stain.

*

Jeannine Hall Gailey recently served as the second Poet Laureate of Redmond, Washington. She is the author of four books of poetry: Becoming the VillainessShe Returns to the Floating WorldUnexplained Fevers, and The Robot Scientist’s Daughter, new in 2015 from Mayapple Press. Her work has been featured on NPR’s The Writer’s Almanac, Verse Daily, and in The Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror. Her poems have appeared in The American Poetry ReviewThe Iowa Review and Prairie Schooner.

Her web site is www.webbish6.com.

Twitter handle: @webbish6.

Latest book, The Robot Scientist’s Daughter: http://mayapplepress.com/the-robot-scientists-daughter-jeannine-hall-gailey/

One thought on “Fill in the Blanks with Jeannine Hall Gailey

  1. Pingback: Poetic Voices: Paula Marie Coomer and Donna Vorreyer

Leave a Reply

